Datatables vs jqGrid

Quick review for both datatables and jqGrid — jQuery plugins — by myself. Those are plugins that generate table so that we can manipulate the table easily. Sorting, paginating, filtering/searchig, inserting, editing, deleting, inline editing are some function that they offer. Just to do point, this is my short review :

Initialization plugin (Installation with static data)

Datatables is much easier than jqGrid.

First, both plugins need to be declared in header HTML (CSS, javascript).

Then prepare the view :

Datatables

Datatables Javascript :

$('#example').dataTable();

Datatables HTML

<table id="table_id">
<thead>
<tr>
<th>Column 1</th>
<th>Column 2</th>
<th>etc</th>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody>
<tr>
<td>Row 1 Data 1</td>
<td>Row 1 Data 2</td>
<td>etc</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Row 2 Data 1</td>
<td>Row 2 Data 2</td>
<td>etc</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>

jqGrid

Meanwhile in jqGrid the process of simple datatables is much complicated. Read my old post here.

Score Conclusion

Datatables 90 vs 60 jqGrid

Sorting, Searching/Filtering, and Paginating (Dynamic source data)

In my opinion? both are pain in my head. Well, subjectively I think datatables much more easy to understand and the code is cleaner. I’ll post the script later here.

jqGrid?  Read my old post here and here. Unfortunately I don’t have a chance to try the search function because of its complexity. (I fail over and over using it in codeigniter)

Score Conclusion

Datatables 70 vs 60 jqGrid

Documentation and community

In my opinion community of datatables much larger than jqGrid. Chain effect of that we will gain more documentation from datatables especially about problem shooting.

Score Conclusion

Datatables 85 vs 70 jqGrid

Flexibility

Both plugins can be used in multiplatform. Well, because they are using javascript (jQuery) so that’s not a problem.

Score Conclusion

Datatables 90 vs 90 jqGrid

Scalability

The plugins will be renewed over and over. When that time comes it’s usually make us to change our code. How about these plugins? Do we need to change much in our code when it happens? Usually it depends on jQuery upgrade. I found that jqGrid scalability a bit complicated when jQuery upgrade to some version. I don’t know, maybe jqGrid need much change because they exist much earlier than datatables?

Score Conclusion

Datatables ? vs 70 jqGrid

Browser Compatibility

Uh-oh.. I never use them except in Chrome 18 and Firefox11. Up to this moment, I found no error yet for both plugin in both browsers. IE? I don’t want to touch my code in IE yet!. So let’s them be stalemate :p

Score Conclusion

Datatables 60 vs 60 jqGrid

CONCLUSION

Again, in my opinion, subjectively I thought datatables much better than jqGrid. Period.

3 pemikiran pada “Datatables vs jqGrid

  1. so, to sum up your post:
    if you’re not so skilled, go with datatables, maybe you’ll be able to sort things out.
    otherwise, give a try jqGrid.
    period.

    “I don’t want to touch my code in IE yet!”… I’m afraid that’s an EPIC FAIL, mate.

  2. lol, I didn’t mean not to consider code in IE,
    I don’t want to waste my time going there (I just provide the logic and let a web designer custom it for me in IE, haha).. but thanks for reminds me.

    nice conclusion from nopenope

Tinggalkan Balasan

