code name: jaunty jackalope

Ubuntu renew its version each 6 month.  Next april(2009), Ubuntu 9.04 will be released. Its code name: Jaunty Jackalope

As you know, Ubuntu is one of open source OS which many peoples get into it. And it’s really something to wait the renew of our ubuntu. I’ve just know that each version of ubuntu has code name. Of course microsoft also makes a code name for  their released version. Like Microsoft Vista-Longhorn or XP ultimate-vienna 2008, etc.

There is the stable and End-Of-Life version of Ubuntu:

Development (future) release


Code name

Release date

End of life date

Ubuntu 9.04

Jaunty Jackalope

Planned for April 2009

October 2010



Code name

Release date

End of life date

Ubuntu 8.10

Intrepid Ibex

October 30 2008

April 2010

Ubuntu 8.04.2 LTS
Maintenance release

Hardy Heron

January 22 2009

April 2011 (Desktop)
April 2013 (Server)

Ubuntu 8.04.1 LTS
Maintenance release

July 3 2008

Ubuntu 8.04 LTS

April 24 2008

Ubuntu 7.10

Gutsy Gibbon

October 18 2007

April 2009

Ubuntu 6.06.2 LTS
Maintenance release

Dapper Drake

January 21 2008

June 2009 (Desktop)
June 2011 (Server)

Ubuntu 6.06.1 LTS
Maintenance release

August 10 2006
August 16 2006 Sun UltraSPARC

Ubuntu 6.06 LTS

June 1 2006
June 16 2006 Sun SPARC64

End of Life (EOL)


Code name

Release date

End of life date

Ubuntu 7.04

Feisty Fawn

April 19 2007

October 2008

Ubuntu 6.10

Edgy Eft

October 26 2006

April 2008

Ubuntu 5.10

Breezy Badger

October 12 2005

April 2007

Ubuntu 5.04

Hoary Hedgehog

April 8 2005

October 2006

Ubuntu 4.10

Warty Warthog

October 26 2004

April 2006


FYI:End of Life version mean that there’s no further development for those versions.

wow, I think the code name of each version is really unique. The second word is an animal names, and the first one explain the adjecive of that animal. The first letter of each world always same. Furthermore, if we look the table we can see the pattern about the first letter of each version(and let me translete it for my friends in indonesia, sorry for bad translation anyway) :

4.10 -> warty warthog —> W = babi penuh kutil

warty warthog

5.04 -> hoary hedgehog –> H = landak tua

5.10–> breezy badger——> B =tupai yang sedang gembira

breezy badger

6.06–> dapper drake——-> D = bebek yang ingin tampil up to date

dapper drake

6.10–> edgy eft————–> E = kadal yang menantang

edgy eft

7.04–> feisty fawn———-> F = anak rusa yang tak takut

warty warthog

7.10–> gutsy gibbon——–> G = awa yang gagah berani

gutsy gibbon

8.04–> hardy heron——–> H = burung bangau yang keras

hardy heron

8.10–> interpid ibex——–> I = kambing gunung yang tak pernah takut dan keras kepala

interpid ibex

9.04–> jaunty jackalope–> J = jackalope yang selalu tampil baru

jaunty jackalope

more and more likely ubuntu developers will use these pattern as guidance, and What’s next?

Kirky koala? Kicky kangaroo?

who knows…(ykzir)


2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ahmy Yulrizka berkata:

    nope :p
    Karmic koala –> Koala yang ber-karma ??

  2. riz berkata:

    hahaha.. bolehlah..
    selamat Anda pengunjung ke 9000!!

Tinggalkan Balasan

Isikan data di bawah atau klik salah satu ikon untuk log in:


You are commenting using your account. Logout /  Ubah )

Foto Google+

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Logout /  Ubah )

Gambar Twitter

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Logout /  Ubah )

Foto Facebook

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Logout /  Ubah )


Connecting to %s